Renew Vehicle Registration

admin Motorist Services

Florida uses a metal license plate with the alpha numeric system, meaning there are combinations of letters and numbers used for identification. The month and year decal is affixed in the upper right hand corner of the license plate (unless otherwise specified). The license plate is displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the exception of certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for ten years. The owner will receive a new plate (with new numbers and letters) during the 10th year.

Vehicles are registered on a staggered basis according to the registered owner’s birth month. The registration expires at midnight on the owner’s birthday. The only exceptions to this schedule are: company owned vehicles and short term leased vehicles are renewed in June; long term leased vehicle renewals are staggered throughout the calendar year; truck-tractors, semi-trailers, and trucks weighing over 5000 pounds are renewed in December. Nine passenger and over vehicles used for hire are also renewed in December. All vehicles are licensed according to weight. Travel trailers and mobile homes are licensed according to length.

You may renew your registration up to 90 days prior to the month in which the registration expires in.

An expired registration may result in a citation from law enforcement. If a registration is not renewed within 10 days after the renewal month, a penalty will be charged.

Registration renewals can be processed:

In Person

  • Inverness Courthouse Annex – 210 N. Apopka Ave, Inverness FL 34450 OR Crystal River Branch – 1540 N. Meadowcrest Blvd., Crystal River FL 34429 Items needed:
  • Driver license number, date of birth, address, and vehicle information. A renewal notice, previous registration, or current registration may be used.
  • Proof of Florida insurance may be needed
  • Payment Accepted:
  • Debit Card ($2.50 Convenience Fee)
  • Credit Card (2.5% Convenience Fee, $2.50 minimum)
  • Cash
  • Check (with valid photo ID)

By Mail

  • Janice Warren, Tax Collector – 210 N. Apopka Ave, Inverness FL 34450 Items needed:
  • Completed registration renewal notice with insurance information and signature
  • Payment Accepted: Check with valid ID card or DL number, date of birth, and telephone number written on it.

Online

A registration may be renewed online by selecting “Renew Now” located at the bottom of the screen. Please have your renewal notice available when renewing your registration online. A “Web PIN” or License plate number and date of birth of the registered owner is needed. The “Web PIN” is located on the lower left corner of your renewal notice.

Once “Renew Now” is selected, please follow the instructions for completing your renewal. You will receive your registration and decal in the mail within 5 to 7 business days.

Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, or eCheck are accepted as form of payment. To protect your credit card information, you must use a browser that supports 128-bit encryption.

Duplicate Registration

Duplicate registrations are available for a fee of $3.00. The owner is required to provide the license plate number. You can request a duplicate registration in any of our branch offices or by mail. If applying by mail send a signed written request and a check made payable to the below address or you can also request a duplication registration online at www.GoRenew.com. The fee online is $3.75.

Citrus County Tax Collector

210 N Apopka Ave Ste 100

Inverness, FL  34450

Reasons That Your Renewal Could Be Refused

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can withhold the registration of a motor vehicle for the following reasons:

  • Failure to comply with directives or pay fines ordered by traffic court. This type of suspension is known as a driver license D6 suspension. For further information contact the Tax Collector’s office.
  • Registration is paid by a dishonored check. This stop is placed on the registration owner regardless of who wrote the check. Contact the local Tax Collector’s office for further information.
  • Driver license suspension because of delinquent child support. For further information, visit a local Child Support Offices or contact the Department of Revenue at 1-800-622-5437.
  • Wrecker Operator Lien is claimed against an individual for recovery, towing and storage of an abandoned vehicle, vessel, or mobile home. Contact the wrecker company (if known) or the local Tax Collector’s Office for further information.
  • Failure to pay parking tickets or toll violations. Contact the local Tax Collector’s office for further information.
  • Failure to turn car over to re-possessor.

Registration stops should be indicated on registration renewal notices.

Proof of Insurance Required

Proof of Florida insurance (binder, policy or card) from a certified Florida agent or Florida broker is required to purchase and renew a license plate in Florida. The vehicle owner must present to the Tax Collector documentation of Property Injury Protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 and Protection Damage Liability (PDL) insurance in the amount of $10,000. Motorcycles, mobile homes and trailers are exempt from the insurance requirement.

Florida residents, on military assignment outside of Florida, are not required to submit proof of Florida insurance coverage. This exemption does not apply to vehicles registered solely in the name of a non-military spouse or dependent(s) of the military member. Military Members should visit: https://www.flhsmv.gov/military/titles-registrations-military-members/.

Change of Address

In order to maintain accurate records all changes of address must be reported to the Tax Collector’s Office within 20 days. It is the responsibility of each registered owner to ensure that the vehicle’s registration is kept current. Renewal notices are mailed as a courtesy service only to help facilitate the renewal process. You can change your address in any of our branch offices. The fee to change your address on a current registration is $3.00. You may also change your address online at www.GoRenew.com. Enter your new address and choose to purchase a duplicate registration. The fee online is $3.75.

Registration Fees

Annual Registration fees are defined by Florida Statute and subject to change by Legislative action. Rates are based on vehicle weight and range from a base fee of $27.10 to $46.10 for standard cars and trucks. Commercial and for hire vehicle rates vary according to several factors. Please contact the Tax Collector’s office for exact rate amounts and questions concerning Military personnel.

Surrendering Your License Plate

If you have sold or otherwise disposed of your vehicle, and have acquired a replacement vehicle, you may be able to transfer the license plate. This transfer may exempt you from the $225 Initial Registration Fee.

If you have cancelled your auto insurance but still have possession of the vehicle, the registered owner must bring the current license plate and registration into a local Tax Collector’s office. The specialist will take possession of your license plate and provide you with the documentation that you will need to retain. If you choose to reinstate your insurance and register the same vehicle or another vehicle you acquire, you would need to submit this documentation to avoid the $225 Initial Registration Fee, if applicable.

Mobile Homes

  • Mobile homes should be registered with a current decal at all times, even when unoccupied. For mobile homes affixed to land that is rented, mobile home decals expire December 31st each year. The fee to register a mobile home is based on the length of the mobile home.
  • A doublewide mobile home requires a registration for each side.
  • Failure to register each year will result in delinquent taxes.
  • If a mobile home and the land it sits on are owned by the same entity, it will need a permanent real property decal (RP decal). A RP decal can be obtained at the Tax Collector’s Office after completing an application with the Property Appraiser’s Office.

Non-Resident Military Registration

Under the Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Relief Act of 1940, members of the United States Armed Forces while stationed in our state in compliance with military or naval orders are not required to register their motor vehicles in our state. The service member may display their current license plate from their home state or they may choose to register their vehicle in Florida. If the service member chooses to register their vehicle in Florida, the law allows an exemption from the registration taxes on vehicles. Members are not required to title their vehicle in Florida; it is optional.

Application Requirements:

  • Provide the military orders assigning the applicant to a Florida military duty station
  • Copy of the current out-of-state registration
  • Proof of Florida insurance
  • The VIN (vehicle identification number) and odometer reading must be verified. The Tax Collector’s staff can do the verification (weather permitting) at the time of title application. If the vehicle will not be available to take to the Tax Collector’s Office, you can get state form 82042 and have the vehicle inspected by a law enforcement officer, military police, a Florida notary, DMV inspector, or a Florida licensed car dealer. An out of state car dealer must complete the VIN verification on dealer letterhead, not on form 82042.

Initial Trailer Registration

Trailers with an empty weight of less than 2,000 lbs are issued a registration only.

Trailers with an empty weight of 2,000 lbs or more are issued a title and registration.

In order to register a trailer, our office will need to see the following documents:

Purchase of a NEW trailer:

  • Photo Identification
  • Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) signed over to the purchaser. This will be issued by the seller (dealer).
  • Bill of sale including the description of the trailer, purchaser and seller information, and proof of payment of sales tax.

Purchase of a USED trailer:

  • 1,999 lbs or less –
    • Photo Identification
    • Bill of sale including the complete description of the trailer, purchaser and seller information.
    • Previous owner’s license plate number.
    • If the used trailer (homemade or manufactured) has never been registered in Florida, a certified weight slip is also needed. A temporary license plate may be purchased at our office for the purpose of obtaining the trailer weight.
  • More than or equal to 2,000 lbs –
    • Photo Identification
    • Title with “Transfer of Title by Seller” section completed
    • If empty weight of trailer does not appear on the title, a certified weight slip is needed.

Homemade Trailer:

  • Less than 2,000 lbs –
    • Photo Identification
    • A certified weight slip is needed. A temporary license plate may be purchased at our office for the purpose of obtaining the trailer weight.
  • More than or equal to 2,000 lbs –
    • These transactions are processed through the DMV Compliance Examiner’s office.
      Please contact our office at (352) 341-6500 for more information.

Personalized Plate

Personalized license plates are ordered and renewed through the Tax Collector’s Office. The initial personalized plate can be applied for at any time as long as the vehicle has a current Florida license plate and registration at the time of application. It will take 60-90 days for the personalized plate to be processed and manufactured. Click here to see availability of personalized plates: www.flhsmv.gov

Specialty Plates

Click below for more information:

https://www.flhsmv.gov/specialtytags/SLP.html

Replacement Plate

If a license plate and/or decal have been lost, a replacement form (83146) will be needed with the owner’s signature. It will cost $36.90 to replace a license plate and current decal and $34.10 to replace a current decal only.

If your license plate and/or decal are stolen, contact your local law enforcement agency to report the theft. The Tax Collector’s Office can replace a stolen tag or decal at no cost if the case # is provided on a police report, or agency card that states the plate is in fact stolen, not lost.

Initial Registration Fee

If you purchase a new or used vehicle and do not have a current license plate to transfer to this vehicle; you will be assessed a $225 Initial Registration Fee. This fee applies to private automobiles, motor homes and trucks less than 5,000 pounds, empty weight.

Abandoned Funds

Abandoned Funds are financial assets that are unknown or lost, or have been left inactive, unclaimed or abandoned by its owner. The most common types of abandoned funds are dormant bank accounts, unclaimed insurance proceeds, stocks, dividends, uncashed checks, deposits, credit balances and refunds. Abandoned Funds assets are held by business or government entities (holders) for a set period, usually five years. If the holder is unable to locate or re-establish contact with the owner and return the asset, it is reported and remitted to the Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Unclaimed Property.
If you feel that you may be on the list of abandoned funds you may click on the Abandoned Funds List link below to review our list. If your name appears on the list your funds have been turned over to the state and you will need to contact them to have the funds returned to you. Their website is www.fltreasurehunt.org.

Click Here to Renew Online