Frequently Asked Questions
REAL ID is a nationwide effort to improve the integrity and security of State-issued driver licenses and identification cards, which in turn will help fight terrorism and reduce identity fraud.
REAL ID compliance is indicated by a gold star located at the top right of your ID or driver's license card.
You will need to bring one of the following primary documents to establish your identity, proof of legal residence and date of birth: For a detailed list of required items, click here.
For U.S. Citizens:
- Valid, unexpired U.S. passport
- Original or Certified copy of a birth certificate
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Naturalization issued by DHS
- Certificate of Citizenship
For cases where the current name and the name on the primary identity document are different, you should also bring:
- For U.S. Citizens
- Court ordered name change document
- Marriage certificate, issued by the courts and/or
- Divorce decree, issued by the courts
In all cases, the document must show a clear trail of name changes originating with the birth name to the current name. For more detailed information on the required identity documents, click here.
- Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card – I-551 for Lawful Permanent Residents
- Valid Passport for non-immigrants except for asylum applicants and refugees
- Other government issued document showing your full name
- Department of Homeland Security document showing proof of lawful presence
- If your name has changed by marriage/divorce, you must have your name changed on your Citizen and Immigration Services (CIS) documents.
Both Citizens and Non-Citizens will need to bring:
You are allowed to renew one time by a convenience method (Internet or mail). Your next renewal must then be in a driver license office. For example, if you renewed your license online in March 2011, you will need to visit a driver license office for your next renewal.
You may come into our Inverness or our Crystal River office and request a duplicate copy. You will need to fill out Form 82101 , (Go to Resources, then Forms), (can be done in the office) and provide a valid driver's license or passport. Fee is $78.25 to be mailed in 7-10 days and $85.75 to have title printed immediately.
*Please remember that although the late fee will not be assessed until this date, for law enforcement purposes, the registration is expired.
A person must be at least 14 years of age to operate a personal watercraft (PWC) in Florida and at least 18 years of age to rent a PWC. Persons born on or after January 1, 1988 must complete an approved boating safety course to operate a vessel of ten horsepower or more on Florida waterways.
No. You must provide proof of current Florida insurance for the vehicle that is being registered. Failure to do so, may result in an insurance suspension on your Driver License. There is no longer a grace period for adding vehicles and submitting insurance.
Current year property taxes are rolled out on November 1 each year (paid in arrears), at which time they may be paid with a due date of March 31. The following discounts are applied if paid early:
- 4% discount if paid in November.
- 3% discount if paid in December.
- 2% discount if paid in January.
- 1% discount if paid in February.
- Gross amount paid in March, no discount applied.
- Taxes become delinquent April 1st of each year.
You must contact the Property Appraiser's Office at (352) 341-6600 to file for homestead exemption. For more information regarding homestead exemption, you may visit their website by clicking here.
The Citrus County Tax Collector accepts partial payments with a signed affidavit (contact our office at (352) 341-6500, option 2 or visit our nearest office for a copy of the affidavit), per Florida Statute 197.374. The property owner must agree to and understand the following:
- Only two partial payments will be accepted
- Partial payments will be accepted for current year taxes only between November 1st and March 31st.
- No discount is allowed for partial payments.
- A $10 processing fee will be charged on each partial payment.
- All discounts will be forfeited.
- It is my responsibility to ascertain the balance due.
- No additional tax bills will be mailed except the reminder notice per F.S.197.343.
- Any remaining balance as of April 1st is considered delinquent and subject to all applicable penalties and fees, in which a tax certificate could be sold.
- Parcels already on the quarterly installment plan are not eligible
Non-ad valorem assessments are NOT based on value but are set amounts. These assessments are specific to your district and are not regulated by the Tax Collector's Office. For more information, please call the number for your district. Click here for the district list.
By law, FDACS has 90 days from the date your application is submitted to process it (Section 790.06, Florida Statutes). However, using our fast-track process, the wait is shorter. You may always check on the status of your application by calling (850) 245-5691 and selecting option 1.
No, our office will simply be accepting applications, taking ID photos and fingerprinting applicants. The FDACS will continue to process all applications and make determinations regarding an applicant’s eligibility for licensure.
This convenience does not change the integrity of the concealed weapon license program. All personal identifying information of applicants and licensees will continue to be confidential and exempt from disclosure as public records. (Section 790.0601, Florida Statutes)
Yes! Our office is also completing renewal applications. The FDACS will send your renewal application form with complete instructions on how to renew your license approximately 95 days prior to the expiration date of your license.
No, you will need to contact the FDACS directly to notify them of your change of address. Click here for more information.
Yes, however, you must bring the following documentation to qualify for the reduced licensing fees
Retired Florida Law Enforcement Required Documentation
If you are retired from a Florida law enforcement agency by which you were employed as a law enforcement officer, correctional officer, or correctional probation officer, you must bring a copy of an official document that shows the date of your retirement and the name of the public agency from which you retired. Simply having been formerly employed at one time as a law enforcement officer, correctional officer, or correctional probation officer is not sufficient. Note also that Florida law does not extend this fee exemption to federal law enforcement retirees or law enforcement retirees from other states.
Active Florida Law Enforcement Required Documentation
You must bring an official letter on agency letterhead stating that you are currently employed with that agency as a law enforcement officer, correctional officer, or correctional probation officer. The letter must be signed by the agency head, the agency’s authorized representative, or the agency’s personnel officer.
Expedited Service for Active Military Members and Veterans
Our office is proud to assist with the expediting of Florida Concealed Weapon License applications for active military members and veterans.
Active military personnel who want to expedite their Florida Concealed Weapon License application should bring a copy of their Common Access Card or other form of official military identification to their appointment. We can also accept a copy of service members’ current orders as proof of active duty status. Honorably discharged veterans should bring a copy of their DD 214 long form.